Foundation Phase

The Foundation Phase is the statutory curriculum for all 3 to seven-year-olds in Wales.

It encourages children to be creative, imaginative and makes learning more enjoyable and effective.

Children are given opportunities to explore the world around them and understand how things work by taking part in practical activities relevant to their developmental stage.

They are challenged to develop their thinking with open-ended questions and encouraged to explore concepts and share ideas for solving problems.

The Foundation Phase has seven Areas of Learning which are delivered through practical activities and active learning experiences both indoors and outdoors.

All pupils are taught:

Personal and Social Development, Well-being and Cultural Diversity

Language, Literacy and Communication SKills

Mathematical Development

Welsh Language Development

Knowledge and Understanding of the World

Physical Development

Creative Development

Key Stage 2

Key Stage 2 is the legal term for the four years of schooling in maintained schools in Wales normally known as Year 3, Year 4, Year 5 and Year 6 when pupils are aged between 7 and 11.

All pupils in the Key Stage 2 are taught:





Information and Communication Technology

Design Technology



Art and Design


Physical Education

Religious Education

Personal and Social Education

Teachers in both stages work as a whole staff on learning and teaching developments, ensuring shared ethos and consistency of practice. This allows our children to continually extend their learning across all areas of the curriculum.

Transition between the stages within our school provides our children with a feeling of security and knowledge of their surroundings. We also work hard to establish good pre-school links and to prepare our oldest children for their transition to secondary school.

Key Stage 2